in

World Rugby confirm disallowed Gareth Anscombe try should have stood



Wales have been told by World Rugby’s referees’ chief that the television match official made a mistake with the controversial no-try incident against England at Twickenham.

Wales back Gareth Anscombe saw a try ruled out in the first half three days ago, even though he appeared to edge out England defender Anthony Watson to the touchdown.

Wales head coach Warren Gatland subsequently described TMO Glenn Newman’s call as a “terrible mistake” and he has now spoken with Alain Rolland, World Rugby’s high performance 15s match officials’ manager.

Speaking to reporters on Tuesday, Wales assistant coach Rob Howley said: “I know Warren Gatland spoke to Alain Rolland, and they confirmed that the TMO made a mistake.” 

Wales lost the NatWest 6 Nations clash 12-6, with England failing to score a point after the 20th minute.



Source link

What do you think?

0 points
Upvote Downvote

Total votes: 0

Upvotes: 0

Upvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Downvotes: 0

Downvotes percentage: 0.000000%

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Julian Assange: Warrant for his arrest upheld by court

Winter Olympics: Is this the worst luge crash so far?